Save Big on Taxes with Expert Assisted ITR Filing from ₹799!

Got an ITR notice? Talk to our CA for the right response.

How to Change Your Caste From SC to General?

It has been found that a state's Scheduled Caste (SC) cannot be converted to general in India. Some states have made efforts to convert their SCs to general, but have had trouble doing so because they are not able to get enough supporting material or people to sign the conversion forms.

What Is the Scheduled Caste Category?

The Scheduled Castes and Tribes (Prevention of Atrocities) Act, 1989 is a law in India to prevent discrimination against the Scheduled Castes and Tribes.

The act is also referred to as the SC/ST Act. The act defines the term ‘Scheduled Castes’ and ‘Tribes’ as follows: 

‘Scheduled Castes’ means any community designated as such by either the Central or a State Government in accordance with the provisions of this Act.

‘Tribes’ means any community which is not designated as a Scheduled caste but which the Central or State Government, in accordance with the provisions of this Act, has found to be socially, culturally and economically backward.

What Is the General Caste Category?

The General Caste category is a social category that is created in India. The General Caste category includes all Hindu castes that are not considered part of the Scheduled Castes or the Scheduled Tribes.

Can I Change My Caste From SC to General?

There are many pros and cons to changing from a scheduled caste to a general caste in India. Here are the Pros: 

-The individual would gain access to education, health care, and other social services that are generally available only to those in the general caste.

-The individual would be elevated in the social hierarchy, perhaps becoming part of an influential family or group.

-The individual would likely have better job prospects and be more likely to achieve economic success.

Click here to get your caste certificates.

The Difference Between Caste and Class in India

Caste is a social system found in India that divides people into four groups based on their hereditary position in society – Brahmin, Kshatriya, Vaishya and Shudra. Each group has different privileges and responsibilities.

Class, on the other hand, is a social system predominantly used in the United States that refers to socio-economic status. People who belong to the upper class usually have more money, power and prestige than those who are in the lower class.

Scheduled Caste and General Caste Equality

The Scheduled Castes (SCs) in India are a caste-based group that accounts for over 50% of the total population. The SCs generally comprise of people who are traditionally employed as manual laborers and cleaners. In contrast, the General caste is made up of people who are traditionally educated and middle class. 

In India, the concept of caste is based on birth rather than occupation. This means that anyone can be classified as belonging to a particular caste, regardless of their actual occupation. Over time, this has resulted in the creation of a number of lower castes, including the SCs.

Check Here to More about:

The government has recognized the importance of promoting equality between all castes and has made attempts to reduce the social differences between the SCs and General castes. In 1990, parliament passed The Scheduled Castes and Other Backward Classes ( Prohibition of Atrocities) Amendment Act, 1989 to provide protection from caste discrimination for the SCs and other backward classes. This amendment also provided for compulsory reservation of appointments or posts in favor of members of the Scheduled Castes and other backward classes. 

Caste System in India

The caste system in India is a social stratification system that divides the population into groups based on their occupation, place of origin, and religious beliefs. The system has roots in Hinduism and was first introduced in India during the period of British colonialism. Today, the caste system is still prevalent in India and plays a significant role in the country’s social life.

Caste is a key determinant of social standing and opportunities in India. Members of a particular caste often have access to different resources and opportunities, and they are often excluded from social interactions with people from other castes. The caste system can lead to discrimination, poverty and inequality.

There are four main castes in India: Brahmin, Rajput, Dalit and Mahadalit. Brahmin is the highest caste category, while Dalit is the lowest. There are also several other minor castes, including Mahar, Kayastha and Reddy.

The caste system has been challenged by various movements throughout history. 

In 1951, the Constitution was amended to give these groups preferential treatment in education and employment.

Since then, the number of SCs has grown steadily. According to the 2011 census, there were about 20 million SCs in India, accounting for about 6 percent of the population. The proportion of SCs in India’s population is much higher than in most other countries with similar demographics. In China, for example, only about 1 percent of the population is classified as an SC.

The increase in the number of SCs has not always been accompanied by equal treatment from society at large. Many SCs continue to face discrimination and social exclusion. For example, they are less likely to have access to education and health care than other citizens. In addition, they are often paid less than their counterparts in other professions. The system of special rights for SCs dates back to colonial times and has roots in India’s history as a predominantly feudal society.

Read more,

Subscribe to our newsletter blogs

Back to top button


Remove Adblocker Extension