Property tax in Bengaluru

Last Updated at: September 29, 2019

Property tax or house tax is a local tax levied by municipal authorities for maintaining basic civic amenities in your area. For 2016-17, Bengaluru has been classified into A, B, C, D, E and F zones. Property tax can be paid from 1st April 2016 till 30th May 2016. If paid before 30th April 2016, you get a rebate of 5%. You can make the payment towards your property tax if you already paid the property tax at least once by using your SAS application number for 2008-09 or later or Property Identification Number (PID). PIDs contain information on ward numbers, street ID and new plot numbers assigned to various properties. If any changes are made in the structure of the property, necessary additions or deletions are to be made in the application. Once the entries are complete, you can generate a challan. This challan along with return has to be used for the payment of property tax in any of the Canara bank branches in jurisdictional area only. There are two main ways to pay property taxes in Bengaluru. The first is the manual method and the second is the online method of tax payment.

Manual Payment

To pay the property tax the manual way, you will need to fill out all the applicable forms and take them to the authorised centers to pay the tax. The tax can be paid via card or demand draft at these centers. These centers are: 1. Bengaluru One Centre 2. ARO offices 3. Canara Bank 4. Corporation Bank 5. HDFC Bank 6. IDBI Bank 7. Induslnd Bank 8. Indian Overseas Bank 9. Kotak Mahindra Bank 10. Yes Bank 11. ING Vysya Bank

Get Your Property Registered

Online Payment

To pay the tax online, all you need is your old and new PID numbers or the base application number. Once you have these details, you can go to the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagar Palike (BBMP) website and enter them to retrieve the details of the tax due on the property and instruction for paying it online. The tax receipt issued by the BBMP will contain all the details about the payment. These details include the application number, payment location, the assessment year, the tax payable, the cess applicable, the total tax payable, any advances paid etc. If the payment is made via cash, demand draft or credit/debit cards then the receipt will be issued immediately. If it is made online then the receipt will be issued as a soft copy which can be saved and printed out at a later date.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I file ITR for AY 2017/18 now?

According to the Budget Amendment 2017, taxpayer faces liability of Rs 5,000, if ITR is filed after the due date of 31 July but before 31 December 2018.Learn More about Income Tax filing

Is ESI registration mandatory?

Under the ESI act 1948 every establishment with 10 or more workers within a wage scale of Rs 21000/- in a month makes it compulsory for ESI registration. More info on ESI registration

Is Fssai a statutory body?

FSSAI was introduced under the Food Safety and Standards Act, 2006, which is a statutory body for the food industry relating to food safety and regulations in India.More information on FSSAI

Who gives ISO certification?

Though industries often term themselves ISO Certified, they are not, unless they attain it from Certification Bodies or Registrars accredited by IAF member.More on ISO Certification

What are the payments on which tax is deducted at source?

According to Income Tax Act, any company or person can deduct tax before making payment if it exceeds the onset limits.Details on TDS Return Filing

What is the criteria for MSME?

The major criterion that is that any enterprise small or medium having an annual profits not more than 250 crores is considered MSME.Learn more about SSI/ MSME Registration